Create and Manage Users

  • Updated

Context

You can create users in Demandbase individually or add users in bulk.

After you create a user, you can change their permission sets, department, or user view. You can also reset the user's password if you're not set up to use Single Sign On (SSO) for log in or delete the user.

Important: 

  • Demandbase doesn’t delete assets such as lists, filters, and reports created by a user when you delete the user.
  • If you delete a user that created activated Automations, Demandbase deactivates them and you must reactivate them manually. See Activate an Automation.

Prerequisites/Preparation

You must have Admin privileges. 

Steps: Create a User

  1. From the left navigation bar, go to Settings_N.png Settings > User Management > Users and click Create New.
  2. In the window that opens, enter the following:
    • Name: Enter the user’s full name.
    • Email: Enter the user’s email address (cannot include spaces or parentheses after the domain).
    • Permissions Sets: Select one or more permission sets for the user. Add multiple permission sets by selecting each one individually from the drop-down list.
    • Department: Select the user’s department.
    • View: Select the user view for the user.
      Add_User.png

  3. Click Create.
    After you create a user, Demandbase sends an email to the user with login instructions and adds the user to the Users table.

Steps: Manage a User

  1. From the left navigation bar, go to Settings_N.png Settings > User Management > Users.
    Tip: Use the filters at the top of the page to find users by their assigned department, user view, permission set, or workspace (if available).
    Manage User Filters.png
  2. Hover the user’s email, click the gear icon that appears, and select one of the following options:
    • Reset Password: Select to reset the user’s password. This option is available only if you’re not set up to use SSO.
    • View Details: Select to view details about the user, including their assigned permission sets.
    • Delete User: Select to delete the user.
      Important: This option cannot be undone. You cannot recover delete users.
    • Change Permission Sets: Select to add or remove permission sets assigned to the user.
    • Change Department: Select to update the user’s department.
    • Edit Profile: Select to update the user’s profile. You can change their first and last name, email address, and the version of Demandbase the user sees (Normal or Show Beta Features).
    • Change View: Select to update the user view for the user.
      Tip: If you're licensed to use workspaces, you can also update the workspaces the user can access. See Change Workspaces for Users.
      Manage

Steps: Manage Multiple Users

  1. From the left navigation bar, go to Settings N.png Settings > User Management > Users.
    Tip: Use the filters at the top of the page to find users by their assigned department, user view, permission set, or workspace (if available).
  2. Select the checkboxes for the users you want to manage, click Take action, and select one of the following options:
    • Delete: Select to delete the users.
    • Change View: Select to update the user view for the users.
    • Add Permission Sets: Select to add permission sets assigned to the users.
    • Remove Permission Sets: Select to remove permission sets assigned to the users.
    • Change Department: Select to update the department for the users.
      Tip: If you are licensed to use workspaces, you can also add and remove the workspaces the users can access.
      Manage Multiple Users.png

Next Steps

Review the following details in the Users table.

Total Usage

The Total Usage column shows the total number of clicks made in Demandbase over the past 14 days by each user. 

Authorized Email

Shows if the user authorized Demandbase to access their emails and calendar events. This option only applies if you’re not using an email service account for authorization.

Communication Sync Status

The Communication Sync Status column shows the current status for each user. Communication sync must be authorized through individual users or through an email service account. The status appears as Initial until the first sync completes.

Was this article helpful?

5 out of 10 found this helpful