Understanding Permission Sets

  • Updated

Permission sets control what users can view and edit across Demandbase. You can assign a permission set to multiple users to simplify access management.

Demandbase provides pre-configured permission sets that you can customize. You can also create permission sets for your organization’s specific needs. See Create and Manage Permission Sets.

Admins can use the audit trail to review changes made to permission sets.

Overview 3.png

Understand Areas in a Permission Set

Permission sets organize permissions by Demandbase area:

  • Analytics
  • Orchestration
  • Database
  • Advertising
  • Personalization
  • MCP
  • Sales
  • Settings

Understand Permission Set Access Levels

When you create or edit a permission set, select an access level for each Demandbase area.

Access Level

Description

Full Access Users can view and edit all areas.
Limited Access Users can access only the selected sub-sections. Some sub-sections also let you specify whether users can view or edit information.
No Access Users cannot access the area.

Configure View Only and Edit Access

For sub-sections that support more granular permissions, you can select:

  • View Only: Users can view the information but cannot edit it.
  • Can Edit: Users can view and edit the information.

Important: If you select both View Only and Can Edit, Can Edit takes precedence and the user has edit access

System Permission Sets

Demandbase provides the following pre-configured permission sets. You can customize each system permission set as needed.

General User
Demandbase Area Access
Analytics Limited: Everything except private reports
Orchestration No Access
Database Limited: Everything except private Account, Person, Opportunity, Activity lists and filters
Advertising Full Access
Personalization Full Access
MCP No Access
Sales No Access
Settings Limited: My Profile only
Admin
Demandbase Area Access
Analytics Full Access
Orchestration Full Access
Database Full Access
Advertising Full Access
Personalization Full Access
MCP Full Access
Sales Full Access
Settings Full Access
Marketing
Demandbase Area Access
Analytics Limited: Everything except private reports
Orchestration Full Access
Database LImited: Everything except private Account, Person, Opportunity, Activity lists and filters
Advertising Full Access
Personalization Full Access
MCP No Access
Sales No Access
Settings Limited: My Profile only
Advertising Admin
Demandbase Area Access
Analytics No Access
Orchestration No Access
Database No Access
Advertising Full Access
Personalization No Access
MCP No Access
Sales No Access
Settings Limited: My Profile only
Personalization Admin
Demandbase Area Access
Analytics No Access
Orchestration No Access
Database No Access
Advertising No Access
Personalization Full Access
MCP No Access
Sales No Access
Settings Limited: My Profile only
Demandbase One for Sales
Demandbase Area Access
Analytics
Limited: Dashboard, Site Analytics, People, Reports (view-only), Communication History (view-only)
Orchestration No Access
Database No Access
Advertising No Access
Personalization No Access
MCP Full Access
Sales Full Access
Settings
Limited: My Profile, Action Configurations (view-only), Journey Builder (view-only)

Understand How Multiple Permission Sets Combine

You can assign more than one permission set to a user. Demandbase combines the assigned permissions and gives the user the highest access level configured for each area.

For example, a user has the following permission sets:

  • Marketing: Full Access to Advertising
  • Sales: No Access to Advertising

The user receives Full Access to Advertising because that is the highest access level provided by either permission set.

View Permission Sets Assigned to a User

To view a user’s assigned and combined permissions:

  1. From the left navigation bar, go to Settings > User Management > Users.
  2. In the Permissions column, view the permission sets assigned to the user.
  3. To view the user’s combined permissions, hover over their email address, and click Settings_N.png Settings > View Details.
    Combined Permissions.jpg

Review the Permission Set Audit Trail

The permission-set audit trail shows who changed a permission set, what they changed, and when they made the change.

To review the audit trail:

  1. From the left navigation bar, go to Settings_N.png Settings > Permission Set > Audit Trail
  2. Expand an action to see its details.

The audit trail includes the following permission-set activity from the past 90 days:

  • Create
  • Update
  • Delete
  • User assignment
  • User removal

Each entry includes the action, details, user, and date and time.

Was this article helpful?

4 out of 4 found this helpful