You can create users in Demandbase individually or add users in bulk. After creating users, you can manage their permission sets, department, or user view.
You can also reset passwords for users who sign in using Demandbase Authentication.
To grant users access to Demandbase One for Sales, see Create Users for Demandbase One for Sales.
Important:
- Deleting a user does not delete assets they created, such as lists, filters, and reports.
- If you delete a user who created activated Automations, Demandbase deactivates those Automations. You must reactivate them manually.
- The top right bar chart of the Users page shows the number of available user seats for your company.
Prerequisites to Create and Manager Users
You must have Admin privileges or be assigned to a permission set with the required Demandbase settings access.
Create a User
-
From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Users.
- Click Create New.
-
Enter the following information:
- Name: User’s full name.
- Email: User's email address. Do not include spaces or parentheses after the domain.
- Permissions Sets: Select one or more permission sets to control the user's access to Demandbase. To assign multiple permission sets, select each one individually from the drop-down.
- Department: User’s department.
- View: User’s view.
-
Job Function: User’s job function.
Important: The available Job Function options cannot be edited.
- Click Create.
Important:- Demandbase sends the new user an email with login instructions and adds the user to the Users table.
- If you have reached the maximum number of user seats allowed by your license, Demandbase displays an error message. You must delete existing users or contact your Demandbase Account Manager to upgrade your plan.
Manage an Individual User
-
From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Users.
Tip: Use the top filters to find users by department, user view, permission set, or Workspace (if available). -
Hover the user’s email address, click the gear icon that appears, and select one of the following options:
- View Details: View the user's profile information, including their assigned permission sets.
-
Delete User: Permanently delete the user.
Important: Deleting a user cannot be undone. Deleted users cannot be recovered. - Reset Password: Reset the user's password. This option applies only to users who sign in using Demandbase Authentication.
- Change Permission Sets: Add or remove permission sets assigned to the user.
- Change Workspace: Update the Workspaces the user can access. This option requires a Workspaces license. See Change Workspaces for Users.
- Change Department: Update the user’s department.
- Edit Profile: Update the user’s first name, last name, email address, user view, department, permission sets, and job function.
-
Change View: Update the user's view.
Manage Multiple Users
-
From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Users.
Tip: Use the top filters to find users by department, user view, permission set, or Workspace (if available). - Select the checkboxes next to the users you want to manage.
- Click Take action and select one of the following options:
-
Delete: Permanently delete the selected users.
Important: Deleting users cannot be undone. Deleted users cannot be recovered. - Change View: Update the user view for the selected users.
- Add Permission Sets: Assign additional permission sets to the selected users.
- Remove Permission Sets: Remove permission sets from the selected users.
- Add Workspaces: Grant the selected users access to additional Workspaces. This option requires a Workspaces license.
- Remove Workspaces: Remove Workspace access from the selected users. This option requires a Workspaces license.
- Change Department: Update the department for the selected users.
-
Reset Password: Reset passwords for the selected users. This option applies only to users who sign in using Demandbase Authentication.
-
Delete: Permanently delete the selected users.
Create Users for Demandbase One for Sales
To grant users access to Demandbase One for Sales (DB1S), assign either the system-generated Demandbase One for Sales permission set or a custom permission set that includes Sales access.
See Demandbase One for Sales Homepage Licensing and Permissions Requirements and Create and Manage Permission Sets.
Important:
- To create DB1S users, you must have the required user management permissions and an applicable DB1S license.
- Admins do not automatically have access to DB1S. You must assign the appropriate Sales permissions to each admin who needs access.
- For customers with a DB1S-only license, you can manage users directly in the DB1S web app. Go to Settings > Admin Settings > Users, and follow the same steps outlined in this article.
Steps to Create Users for Demandbase One for Sales
- Create a user in Demandbase One for Marketing (DB1M) or, for DB1S-only customers, in the DBS web app. See Create and Manage Users.
Important: When you create a user in DB1M, Demandbase automatically creates the corresponding user in DB1S. However, you must assign the appropriate permissions to grant DB1S access. - Assign DB1S access using one of the following permission set options:
-
System-generated Demandbase One for Sales permission set: In the user's profile, go to Permission Sets and select Demandbase One for Sales.
Tip: This permission set grants access to DB1S only. -
Customized permission set: Go to a permission set > Sales tab, and configure the appropriate access level.
Tip: A custom permission set can grant access to DB1S in addition to DB1M.
-
System-generated Demandbase One for Sales permission set: In the user's profile, go to Permission Sets and select Demandbase One for Sales.
Click Create when creating a new user, or save the permission set changes when updating an existing user.