Roles allow admins to manage user access and settings at scale by assigning permission sets, views, departments, and job functions through a single role. When a user's responsibilities change, administrators can update their assigned role to automatically apply the associated settings.
Roles also support SCIM user provisioning, allowing user settings to be assigned automatically based on group membership in your identity provider.
From the Role Management page, administrators can create, edit, and assign roles, search for and export roles, and review role change history.
Prerequisites to Create and Manage Roles
- You must have admin access in Demandbase.
- You must configure the following before assigning roles to users:
Create a Role
- From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Role Management.
- Click Create New.
- Enter the following:
- Name: Name of the role.
- Permission Sets: Select one or more permission sets to assign to the role.
- Assigned View: View for the role.
- Department: Department for the role.
-
Job Function: Job function for the role.
Important: The options for Job Function can’t be edited.
- Click Create.
Edit a Role
- From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Role Management.
- Hover over a role name and click the settings icon.
- Click Edit Role.
- Update the role settings as needed.
- Select how to apply permission set changes to users assigned to the role:
Important: Changes to Assigned View, Department, and Job Function always override the users' existing settings.- Add: Keep the users' existing permission sets and add the permission sets assigned to the role.
- Override: Replace the users' existing permission sets with those assigned to the role.
Assign Users to a Role
- From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Role Management.
- Hover over a role name and click the settings icon.
- Click Assign Users.
- Enter the email addresses of the users you want to assign to the role.
- Select how to apply permission sets to the users:
Important: Changes to Assigned View, Department, and Job Function always override the users' existing settings.- Add: Keep the users' existing permission sets and add the permission sets assigned to the role.
- Override: Replace the users' existing permission sets with those assigned to the role.
View Role Change History
Use the Audit Trail tab to review changes to user roles.
- From the left navigation bar, go to
Settings > User Management > Role Management.
- Go to the Audit Trail tab.
- Filter the role history table using one or more of the following:
- User Role: Filter by role.
- Action: Filter by the type of change.
- Actioned By: Filter by the user who made the change.