Workspaces allow you to provide different users access to different account, people, opportunity, and activity data in your Demandbase One tenant. You can also add assets such as lists, filters, and reports to workspaces to limit the users that can access them.
By default, your tenant includes a global workspace that admins can use to access all your data and assets. For each additional workspace you want to create, Demandbase guides you through the following steps.
Step 1: Configure Data Rules
Configure the data rules that define the accounts, people, opportunities, and activities to include in the workspace using Selectors. You can configure data rules for each data type, but no data rules are required to publish a workspace. If you don't configure any data rules, all of the data in your tenant can be accessed from the workspace.
When you configure multiple data rules, only the data that matches all of the data rules can be accessed in the workspace. For example, if you configure an account data rule and a people data rule, the workspace only includes people matching the people data rule from accounts matching the account data rule.
Step 2: Assign Users
Select the users that you want to assign to the workspace. Users assigned to a workspace can access all of the included data and assets. Users can be assigned to multiple workspaces.
Tip: You can also change the workspaces users can access after publishing a workspace. See Change Workspaces for Users.
Step 3: Connect Assets
Select the assets such as lists, filters, and reports that you want to move to the workspace. You also have the option to move or copy assets to the workspace after you publish it. See Manage Workspace Assets: Lists, Filters, and Reports.
After you publish a workspace, any assets created in the workspace can only be accessed from that workspace.
Important: The assets selected in this step will be moved from the global workspace to the new workspace. They can only be managed in the new workspace. Once the assets are moved to the new workspace, they cannot be moved back to the global workspace.
Step 4: Review and Publish
Review the workspace configuration and publish it to your tenant from the summary page. The page lists the workspace name, configured data rules, assigned users, and added assets.
Important: After you publish a workspace, it cannot be accessed or updated for approximately 24 hours while Demandbase processes the changes.
Tip: After you save or publish a workspace, you can update its configuration by clicking the step at the top of the navigation bar. The navigation bar also shows steps that may require attention.
You must be licensed to use workspaces.
You must have Admin privileges or be assigned to a permission set with the required access.
Before creating workspaces, decide on the data and assets you want each group of users to be able to access. One common use case is to create a workspace for each of your business units and provide each business unit with access to only their data and assets.
- From the drop-down list for selecting workspaces in the top navigation bar, select Global Workspace. See Understanding Workspace Navigation for more information about switching workspaces.
- From the left navigation bar, go to Settings > Demandbase-Wide Settings > Workspaces and click Create New.
Important: The Workspaces page is only available from the global workspace and only if your company is licensed to use workspaces.
- In the window that opens, enter a workspace name and click Next.
Demandbase creates the workspace and takes you to Step 1.
- To configure data rules, do the following:
a. Select the Account, People, Opportunity, or Activity tab.
b. Use Selectors to configure a data rule that defines the data for the selected data type. For example, you can configure an account data rule to include companies with account names that start with certain letters.
Tip: Click the refresh icon to see the number of items that match the Selector criteria.
c. Repeat the process for each data type, as needed.
d. Click Next to proceed to Step 2.
Tip: You can click Save Draft at any time to save your changes to the workspace without publishing it.
- To assign users, do the following:
a. Select the checkbox next to the user’s name.
b. Click Next to proceed to Step 3.
- To connect assets, do the following:
a. Select the checkbox next to the lists (account, people, opportunity), filters (account, people, opportunity, activity), and reports you want to move to the workspace.
Important: The selected assets will be moved permanently from the global workspace to the new workspace. This action cannot be undone. If you want to copy assets to the new workspace instead, you can do so after you publish the workspace. See Manage Workspace Assets: Lists, Filters, and Reports.
b. Click Next to proceed to Step 4.
- To review and publish, do the following:
a. Review the Setup and Connected Assets sections to confirm the workspace configuration. For unconfigured data rules or asset types, you can click Get started to go to the step for updating your configuration.
b. Click Publish.
Tip: If you’re not ready to publish the workspace, click Save Draft to save the current configuration. Assets connected to draft workspaces cannot be viewed or used until you publish the workspace. Assets connected to unpublished workspaces revert back to the global workspace if you do not edit or publish the workspace within one week.
Important: After you publish a workspace, you cannot access or update it for approximately 24 hours while Demandbase processes the changes.