If you choose monthly budgeting when you set up an ad campaign in self-serve Advertising, the Campaign Builder provides you with a Budget Rollover option. When the Budget Rollover checkbox is selected, funds in a campaign’s ad budget for a month that aren’t spent get added to the budget goal of the next month. This option helps you evenly pace your campaigns by month and better manage your campaign budgets.
Although the screenshot does not show it, you can select both the Pro-rate checkbox and the Budget rollover checkbox.
- Monthly budget = $7,000 and runs for 3 months.
- In month 1, the campaign spent $6,531, leaving an under-spent budget of $469. The $469 amount is then added to the budget goal of month 2, changing it from $7,000 to $7,469. The campaign continues to rollover under-spent budget until the entire, revised budget for a month is spent or the campaign ends.
If I don’t select the Budget rollover option and my monthly budget isn’t met, what happens?
If your campaign doesn’t use the full monthly budget, you’ll only be charged for the actual ad impressions served. The unspent funds won’t be added to the budget for the following month.
If I launched a campaign with Budget rollover selected and then in a subsequent calendar month I change the monthly budget, how does Demandbase handle it?
Any rollover budget will be added to the newly allocated monthly budget.
- A $2,000 monthly budget for a 4-month campaign with rollover enabled and a budget reduction in
- During month 2 only $1,691 was spent, leaving a rollover budget for month 3 of $309. This amount will then be added to month 3’s budget goal, changing it from $2,000 to $2,309.
- In month 3, the monthly budget is reduced to $1,000. Then the rollover budget will be added to this new budget, totaling $1,309 for month 3.
I’ve launched a monthly budgeted campaign with Budget rollover selected. Can I go back and uncheck the Budget rollover option?
Yes, you can disable Budget rollover in an active campaign. The change will apply to the current month and any subsequent months of the campaign.
I’ve launched a monthly budgeted campaign without Budget rollover selected. Can I go back and enable the Budget rollover option?
A: Yes, you can select the Budget rollover checkbox after you have launched a campaign. The change will apply to the current month and any subsequent months of the campaign.